April Showers…

With the dawn of each spring comes a new beginning.  Although the New Year rings in in January, April always feels like the actual start of a new year.  And with the arrival of spring comes renewed motivation…hence, this blog was born.

“Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all.
Harriet Van Horne

 When I was a child, my family was like that of almost every other family with an Italian mama.  She cooks and you eat.  Mine was no different.  My mother was the queen of the household but of the kitchen in particular.  She was the eternal hostess as her mother was before her.  Any visitor would be greeted with a kiss on both cheeks and some sort of yummy treat.  The kitchen was an area which, as a child, I was not to disturb.  Almost like a place of worship.

It was because of this that cooking and baking became almost a holy mission, one that I was certainly not qualified to participate in.  There were very few times, if my memory serves me, that I participated in the kitchen.  So, when I grew up and became a wife and mother myself, it became my responsibility to take on this important “crusade”.

After my husband and I were married, I did not begin my learning right away.  Still intimidated and convinced that I was not up to the challenge, I gave in to the easy frozen food and prepared meals fad that so many busy spouses and parents feel coerced to adopt.  It wasn’t until our second child came along that I decided to see whether genetics would serve me well and make me at least half the cook and baker my mother was.  Only time will tell.

This blog will serve as a journal of my successes and failures alike.  I hope to share some recipes as well as some hints/advice that I find myself inevitably learning the hard way so maybe you don’t have to 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

